Garden Photo of the Day

READER PHOTOS! Avis’s garden in Maryland

2 WAYS TO ENLARGE!Click directly on the photo to enlarge in a pop-up, or click HERE to see this image, larger, in a new browser window.
Photo/Illustration: Courtesy of Avis Vesely

Today’s photos are from Avis Veseley in southern Maryland.

She says, “This is a picture taken from our little “Wee House” where we nap, play with grandchildren, sort seeds and plan gardens. When resting on the couch I love to look out onto the curving garden path that leads to the rustic arbor.  This picture was taken last summer. We live in southern Maryland near the Chesapeake Bay on a very wooded lot which I have been working to tame a bit. I love being outside working the earth even on these warm winter days and looking forward to spring.

Photo/Illustration: Courtesy of Avis Vesely

“As for the Wee House, I am a military wife and had been carrying around old stained glass windows purchased in England 30 years ago and standing them inside our windows for privacy instead of curtains. When the moving life was over, I put one of the windows in our Wee House. After we renovated our house we had 4 boxes of hardwood flooring left over, so that went in along with some inexpensive bead board, a crazy green couch which turns into a bed, and a wonderful old sconce that was salvage. It’s my quiet place and is also becoming a place our granddaughter loves to color and cuddle.”

So great, Avis. That view is wonderful. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Send me pics of YOUR garden hang-out spots, everyone! I think they’re fascinating, and sort of like the “kitchen” of the garden, if you catch my drift. It’s where people congregate, talk, and relax, and maybe even get a little work done. Email me at [email protected].

Photo/Illustration: Courtesy of Avis Vesely

Want us to feature YOUR garden in the Garden Photo of the Day? CLICK HERE!

Want to see every post ever published? CLICK HERE!

View Comments

Comments

  1. Steepdrive 01/17/2012

    Avis - lovely spot. I really like your stone walkway through the woods.

    I'm from Maryland, too! My photos were on last Tuesday. S Tuesday must be for Maryland gardeners. :)

  2. User avater
    meander_michaele 01/17/2012

    Well, your Wee House is truly the the very definition of adorable. It seems to be tucked into the surrounding trees just perfectly...giving such a cozy feeling. Your grandchildren must love to visit and get to spend time in such an enchanting place. The stained glass window creates a magical spot of natural light. Congratulations on a beautiful piece of work.

  3. riverlady 01/17/2012

    I loved the picture of your path. I am in the process of making such a path in my yard too. It is a lot of work as we have been gathering the rocks ourselves with several trip into the woods of Ontario. I live in Marchand, Manitoba and have gardened our 2 acre lot on a river for just over 2 years. It is a work in progress but I love it. I was interested in your comment about the 'moving life' being over. We moved lots over the years too with my husband being with the railroad. Such a life affords lots of gardening experience though, making each place home. By the way, it is -20F outside here at this time. BRR!

  4. sheilaschultz 01/17/2012

    What a perfect spot to nurture the imagination in both the young and old. It must be the first place your granddaughter wants to go when she come over. Lucky girl.

  5. jmlecocq 01/17/2012

    What a great idea! If we had grandkids...I might consider this. that stone walkway is so enticing. I like the way your image invites the viewer to continue on the trail.

  6. pattyspencer 01/17/2012

    What a neat place to have at the end of a lovely walkway! Love it!

  7. CiCiD 01/18/2012

    Your grandchildren are very, very lucky!!!

  8. davsav 01/18/2012

    I forgot to add that my brother Dennis, a jazz sax guy, spends an hour or so every day in the "Wee House" practicing scales on his horn whenever he visits. He loves the quiet and the view. Avis

  9. tactywmef 06/26/2013

    Cheap Oakley Polarized Sunglasses ,No person believes you, nobody willing to tune in to you? But I believe that everything becomes more perfect, it takes imagination. Exciting glasses Oakley style and elegant fighter born designer labels Oakley solar shades to provide the usually more stylish, by using a various substances. Fake Oakley SUnglasses ,Oakley sunglasses has become taken up the intention of protection, contact wrapped around repel a great deal more gentle and UV protection to obtain more sunlight over a normal light wear, and might toss an array of broad-brimmed head. Oakley sunglasses designed every year to modify, like almost every other styles. However, the various alternatives, not only a practical fashion occasions. Oakley M Frame ,These Maui humble glasses is very polarized poor coloring in the decline from the actual glare, therefore you think you recently colored areas, instead of immediately within a luxury: OAKLEY different style glasses.
    Should you be like most people, often seen and coveted with the appearance of Paris Hilton, Rihanna, Kate Moss and Jessica Alba wearing sunglasses. Around the protection of sunglasses to perform things isn't difficult, just little things, challenging to cultivate good wearing habit, the best protection for the eyes. Before you are looking at how a number of Oakley sunglasses, we will backside to see why people need to take selling point of Oakley sunglasses. The reason is because you could see further safety. Jacket XLJ Polarized, Oakley anti-aircraft guns by strengthening the concept, it is completely satisfied to talk to your face. Furthermore, you provide your electric solar sunroof. Artists and professional sunglasses, even as expensive for the form of movement, a lot more than the buying price of most sunglasses. However, you will find various discount Oakley sunglasses available online.
    Really this kind of good latest design and style of Oakley sunglasses, the head in the scope of any single style, such a many styles, you are able to with the options. A range, allowing guests to marvel in the high-definition optical measurement of lens to enlarge the style from the refractive power in the test machine, virtually eliminating distortion caused by the magnification. Clothing, including different materials, that's pleasant and comfy complexion. Moreover, women's clothing can be found in different colors, patterns and standards of measurement. Retailers advertised numerous designer sunglasses, it isn't exactly the overall goal should be to provide you with the framework of fashion, but they supply the greatest amount of eye protection sunglasses glasses stock.

Log in or create an account to post a comment.

Related Articles

The Latest

Video

View All