Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Audio Play Icon Headphones Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Check Icon Print Icon Note Icon Heart Icon Filled Heart Icon Single Arrow Icon Double Arrow Icon Hamburger Icon TV Icon Close Icon Sorted Hamburger/Search Icon
Kitchen Gardening

Gardeners, Start Your Seed Search!

Now's the time to order those Winter and Spring seed catalogs.

As I was flipping my calendars from October to November, the thought occurred to me that I needed to start choosing my crops and varieties for next year’s garden. Or should I say this year? Let me explain.

One of the staple crops in my Victory Garden are peppers. If you start them yourself from seed, you need a minimum of 8 to 10 weeks for them to reach full transplant size. Down here in North Texas, where mid-March is the linchpin of the early growing season, that means you are actually starting next year’s garden in late December (at least unofficially). How’s that for an early Christmas gift!

My point? I need to get cracking and make my selections. That means getting my garden porn… I mean, seed catalogs ordered. I can start by reviewing the ones from this year, but to take advantage of new varieties and information, I need to stay current.

As I was surfing around, I immediately noticed that online seed suppliers aren’t just about ordering seeds, plants and supplies. They have become an outstanding (and unexpected) source of information. Tips, videos, newsletters, blogs and other items are absolutely free, regardless of whether or not you become a customer. For example, Johnny’s Selected Seeds has a calculator to determine how many seeds or plants you need… sweet! Not to mention the beautiful catalog from Baker Creek that deserves a spot on your coffee table.

Viewing all of the selections online is great and immediate, but if you have the time, then nothing beats being able to plan your garden during the cold months with your favorite easy chair, beverage of choice, and a handful of freshly printed catalogs.

So, allow me to “put a dollar in the tip jar” and kick off your seed search. The following is an alphabetized list of seed companies and their URLs. I can’t list ’em all, but most of the heavyweights are here. Get ordering!

American Meadows https://www.americanmeadows.com
Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds
read a review…
https://rareseeds.com
Botanical Interests, Inc.
read a review…
https://www.botanicalinterests.com
Burpee
read a review…
https://www.burpee.com
The Cook’s Garden https://www.cooksgarden.com
Evergreen Seeds https://www.evergreenseeds.com
Gurney’s Seed & Nursery Co.
read a review…
https://gurneys.com
Harris Seeds https://www.harrisseeds.com
Henry Field’s https://henryfields.com
Home Harvest Seeds (Ferry Morse) https://homeharvestseeds.com
Johnny’s Selected Seeds
read a review…
https://www.johnnyseeds.com
Jung Garden and Flower Seed Company https://www.jungseed.com
Kitazawa Seed Company https://www.kitazawaseed.com
New Dimension Seed https://www.newdimensionseed.com
Park Seed Co. https://www.parkseed.com
Reimer Seeds https://www.reimerseeds.com
Seed Savers Exchange
read a review…
https://www.seedsavers.org
Seeds of Change
read a review…
https://www.seedsofchange.com
Stokes Seeds https://www.stokeseeds.com
Territorial Seed Co. https://www.territorialseed.com
Thompson & Morgan
read a review…
https://www.tmseeds.com
Tomato Growers Supply Co. https://www.tomatogrowers.com
Totally Tomatoes
read a review…
https://www.totallytomato.com
View Comments

Comments

Log in or create an account to post a comment.

Related Articles

The Latest

Magazine Cover

Take your passion for plants to the next level

Subscribe today and save up to 44%

"As a recently identified gardening nut I have tried all the magazines and this one is head and shoulders above the pack."

Video

View All

We hope you’ve enjoyed your free articles. To keep reading, become a member today.

Get complete site access to decades of expert advice, regional content, and more, plus the print magazine.

Start your FREE trial